Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (September 2021)

The Marine Design Edition

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of September 2021 Maritime Reporter Magazine

MARITIME

Editorial

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

New York, NY 10010 USA

T +1 212 477 6700; F +1 212 254 6271

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

T +1 561 732 4368; F +1 561 732 6984

Publisher John C. O’Malley @ShipNews jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

Offshore Energy Editor

Bartolomej Tomic

Ørbeck-Nilssen, CEO, DNV Maritime, tomic@offshore-engineer.com

The ‘Marine Design’ edition of 2021 is more than a fair bit different from the starting on page 26.

Science & Technology Editor

Tom Mulligan ones I produced for this title starting in The feature ship this month is Global tom.mulligan@marinelink.com 1993, and sometimes I ? nd it dif? cult to put Mercy, the world’s largest civilian hospital

Production Manager

Irina Vasilets the level of difference in proper perspective. ship and the ? rst newbuild ship ever the vasilets@marinelink.com

But all I really need to do is to dip back Mercy Ships ? eet. Jim Paterson, Mercy

Production & Graphic Design

Nicole Ventimiglia into the archives and see the MV R.J. Ships’ Marine Executive Consultant, is a nicole@marinelink.com

Pfeiffer gracing the cover of our Septem- maritime professional through and through,

Corporate Staff ber 1993 edition, a “big” 713-ft. long, sailing ? rst commercially on his Chief En-

Manager, Marketing

Mark O’Malley 1,910-TEU capacity containership built by gineer’s Certi? cate before switching gears momalley@marinelink

NASSCO for Matson Navigation, and the and joining the Mercy Ships team more

Accounting

Esther Rothenberger juxtaposition between maritime in 1993 and than 30 years ago. The story on the quest rothenberger@marinelink.com 212-477-6700 ext 6810 2021 is hauntingly clear. to build Global Mercy starts on page 18, a

Manager, Information Technology Services

For this edition I had the unique opportu- story which explores some of the unique at-

Vladimir Bibik bibik@marinelink.com nity to interview the leaders of three major tributes of its mission with insights on how

Circulation classi? cation societies in a span of two they impact ship design. But if you want the

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com 212-477-6700 ext 6320 weeks, including Chris Wiernicki, CEO, complete story, take 20 minutes and watch

Sales

ABS, featured on the cover. Each provides my interview with Paterson on Maritime

Vice President, Sales & Marketing

Rob Howard insightful views on where we are, and just Reporter TV [ bit.ly/2WW8hMz ], as his howard@marinelink.com; +1 561-732-4368 as importantly where we’re heading, and to words provide a depth and breadth of scope

Advertising Sales Managers a man all see the emission-reduction targets – plus a passion for the mission – that is

National Sales Manager

Frank Covella leading up to 2050 – targets which undoubt- dif? cult to deliver on page.

covella@marinelink.com; +1 561-732-1659 edly will grow more strict through the years Finally, Barry Parker takes a deep dive

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com; – as the driver for ship design, construction into the container shipping and logistics +1 212-477-6700 ext 6240 and operation for the coming three decades mess that has come about due to COVID

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com; +1 561-732-1185 and beyond. in our Shipping and Ports annual starting

Mike Kozlowski

Wiernicki said “I believe we’re going to on page 44. With manufacturing, container kozlowski@marinelink.com; +1 561-733-2477 see more innovation in the next 10 years rates and port congestion all soaring, it dif-

International Sales than we saw it in the last century,” contend- ? cult to see how and when it might end. But

Scandinavia & Germany

Roland Persson ing that the maritime industry needs “radical trust, it will!

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24

Ystad, Sweden advances” in technology to cope with the roland@orn.nu; +46 411-184 00 demands of decarbonization. One such

Germany, Austria & Switzerland

Tony Stein radical advance is Multi-Physics Simulation tony.r.stein@btinternet.com +44 1892 512777 (MPS) and its potential to help unlock the next generation of vessels and technologies.

United Kingdom, France, Italy & Spain

Paul Barrett

Read this story, plus our interviews with Hi-

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK roaki Sakashita, CEO, ClassNK; and Knut ieaco@aol.com; +44 7778 357722

Gregory R. Trauthwein

Editor & Associate Publisher Founder:

John J. O’Malley [1905 - 1980] trauthwein@marinelink.com

Charles P. O’Malley [1928 - 2000]

John E. O’Malley [1930 - 2019] 6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • September 2021

MR #9 (1-17).indd 6 9/7/2021 3:24:11 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.