Bonner Elected Chairman, Solley Vice Chairman Of VMA

Ed Bonner, president and CEO of Leslie Co., is the 1986 chairman of the Valve Manufacturers Association of America (VMA). Larry Solley, group vice president and worldwide product director-Final Control Systems, Fisher Controls International, Inc., is the new vice chairman. Both were elected at the association's annual meeting held October 13-16 in Santa Barbara, Calif. Their one-year terms began January 1, 1986.

Mr. Bonner joined Leslie Co., Parsippany, N.J., in April 1973 as executive vice president and was elected president and chief operating officer in April 1974. Previously, he worked 15 years for Nichols Engineering and Research Corp., New York City. Before joining Leslie, Mr. Bonner served as vice president- sales at Nichols.

Mr. Bonner has been a member of the board of directors since 1982 and was formerly VMA's chairman of product/industry committees.

Mr. Solley joined Fisher Controls, Marshalltown, Iowa, in 1977 as vice president-planning and in 1979 was appointed vice presidentmarketing.

Before being promoted to his present position, he served as vice president-Control Valves and Regulators Division. Prior to joining Fisher, he held various engineering and marketing positions with Monsanto Co. Mr. Solley, currently chairman of VMA's finance committee, has served on the board of directors since 1981.

James R. Burke, vice president- corporate development of Cameron Iron Works, Inc., Houston, will remain on the board as immediate past chairman having held that position in 1984 and 1985.

Newly elected to three-year terms are: R.R.J. Baker, president and general manager-Valves & Fittings Division, Crane Co., Elmsford, N.Y., and Gerald E. Hoffmeister, president- Flow Control Division, Rockwell International Corp., Pittsburgh.

Elected to a two-year term is Thomas Bruns, president and CEO, Xomox Corp., Cincinnati.

Directors reelected to three-year terms are: James H. Elder Jr., chairman, president and CEO, Anderson, Greenwood & Co., Bellaire, Texas, and Bill Henry, chairman of the board of directors, MUESCO, Inc., Houston. Reelected to twoyear terms are: Ralph H. Clemons Jr., president, Daniel Industries, Inc., Houston, and Daniel L. De- Santis, president, Jamesbury Corp., Worcester, Mass.

Present board members serving continuing terms are: William E.

Bendix, group vice president, Mark Controls Corp., Evanston, 111.; Lynn Elliott, president, EIM Valve Controls, Inc., Missouri City, Texas; Charles L. Harper, general manager, W-K-M Division, Joy Manufacturing Co., Houston; George Raftis, president, Red Valve Co., Inc., Carnegie, Pa.; and Kenneth P. Stegemiller, division president, The Duriron Co., Inc., Cookeville, Tenn.

Founded in 1938, the Valve Manufacturers Association of America today represents 76 domestic valve manufacturers who together account for approximately 85 percent of the total U.S. industrial valve production. The American valve industry supplies 40 percent of the worldwide valve demand.

Maritime Reporter Magazine, page 46,  Mar 1986

Read Bonner Elected Chairman, Solley Vice Chairman Of VMA in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 1986 Maritime Reporter

Other stories from March 1986 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.